Joan Baez - Play Me Backwards Vinyl LP


Reg. price £25.00

Price includes VAT

In Stock

Please note we do not ship outside the UK

Contact me when an Ex-Demo Model is available
180g Double LP, Gatefold Sleeve, Diverse Records DIV029LP

First released in 1992, Play Me Backwards holds a very special place in the rich 50-year recording history of Joan Baez. The album’s sessions brought her back to Nashville for the first time since the series of four albums she had recorded in Music City between 1968 and 1971. Returning to Nashville’s familiar environment two decades later and collaborating with producers Wally Wilson and Kenny Greenberg proved to be a perfect fit. Joan reaffirmed her unique ability to identify and interpret successive generations of songwriters whose music had the ability to speak to her: Mary Chapin Carpenter (“Stones In the Road”), John Stewart (“Strange Rivers”), John Hiatt (“Through Your Hands”), the duo of Janis Ian and Buddy Mondlock (“Amsterdam”), and Ron Davies (“Steal Across the Border” and “The Dream Song,” co-written with Joan). Play Me Backwards also contains four songs that Joan cowrote with her two producers (“Play Me Backwards,” “Isaac and Abraham,” “I’m With
You,” and “Edge Of Glory,” one of the last occasions on which she contributed to an album as a songwriter.
Adding historic provenance to this reissue is a second disc containing previously unreleased demos of 10 songs which were contemplated by Joan and her producers, heard here for the first time.

Side A 
1. Play Me Backwards 
2. Amsterdam 
3. Isaac & Abraham 
4. Stones In The Road 
5. Steal Across The Border 
6. I'm With You 
7. I'm With You (Reprise) 

Side B 
8. Strange Rivers 
9. Through Your Hands 
10. The Dream Song 
11. Edge Of Glory 

Side C 
1. Medicine Wheel 
2. Rise From The Ruins 
3. Trouble With The Truth 
4. Much Better View Of The Moon 
5. Seven Curses 

Side D 
6. Lonely Moon 
7. We Endure 
8. The Last Day 
9. In My Day 
10. Dark Eyed Man

Why is this item collection only?

This is because some items require more setting up than others (e.g. multi room systems) or have advanced settings.

To ensure you get the most from your equipment we need to take you through the process of setting it up correctly.

Sometimes the equipment is simply not suitable for shipping (e.g. glass stands that have been built up).

Simply reserve your product today and then arrange to pick it up from your nearest Audio-T store.

Items showing as "In Stock" are within the Audio T group and we may need additional time to transfer to your selected branch.

Contact me when this product is available as an ex-demo model

Joan Baez - Play Me Backwards Vinyl LP

Joan Baez-Play Me Backwards
  • AnthemAudiolabAudioquestAudio TechnicaAURALiCArcam
  • B&WChord CompanyChord ElectronicsCyrusDenonDynaudio
  • DynavectorFocalKEFLinnMarantzMonitor Audio
  • NaimNeat AcousticsNovaFidelityOphidian AudioPanasonicPioneer
  • PMCProjectQuadNaim UnitiRegaREL
  • RotelRuark AudioSonosSpendorYamaha

Registered office: 19 Old High Street, Headington, Oxford, OX3 9HS